POLYTEC PASSION CREATES INNOVATION

Underbody & Structural Solutions

QUIET, FLEXIBLE AND PERFECTLY PROTECTED

POLYTEC has played a role in numerous success stories in which standard metal parts or assemblies have been transformed into integrated plastics solutions. As a result weight has been save, costs lowered, noise absorbed and also CO2 emissions cut considerably.
​​​​​​​   
Furthermore, vehicle electrification means that effective protection of the battery from external influences and of the passengers against electromagnetic fields is essential. As an innovative partner to the automotive industry, POLYTEC also offers optimised solutions in this regard and in addition is researching into new structural application and assembly part concepts.  

VEHICLES WITH HYBRID OR ELECTRIC BATTERY DRIVE SYSTEMS

LIGHTWEIGHT PROTECTION FOR PASSENGERS AND BATTERIES

Lightweight design is of special significance in the e-mobility sector, not only with respect to weight reduction, but also functional integration. Within this context, the safeguarding of passengers against the penetration into the vehicle interior of the electromagnetic fields emanating from the battery is just as important as the protection of the battery against external influences such as dirt and moisture.

 


​​​​​​​Highlights:​​​​​​​

  • Lightweight structure with high levels of dimensional stability and functional integration

  • Electromagnetic field reduction, temperature shielding

  • Excellent surface bonding characteristics, flame-resistance

INTEGRATED UNDERBODIES

EXCELLENT PROTECTION AND IMPROVED ACOUSTICS

POLYTEC has also declared functional integration as being standard for underbodies. Apart from the protection function and aerodynamic optimisation, noise is absorbed and heat shields are integrated. Furthermore, in order to offer cost-efficient products, these additional functions are also pressed in during the one-shot process.

One special capability is the integration of light LWRT sections into stable D-LFT supports, which are pressed in a one-shot process. As a result, our customers can exploit the technical advantages of LWRT, while intelligent tool concepts reduce expensive waste. Naturally enough, heat shields or organo sheets can also be processed at the same time.
​​​​​​​


​​​​​​​Highlights:

  • No material waste = low-cost solution

  • Combination of the advantages of LWRT and D-LFT

  • The cost benefits of one-shot production in a single tool

Using the one-shot process, the POLYTEC In-moulded Sound Absorber (PISA), which is made from acoustic absorber foam, is pressed  simultaneously into an underbody. With its outstanding acoustic absorption capacity this ensures quiet in both the interior and exterior sections of the vehicle. In addition, the sealed sound absorber resists  water, fuel, oil and brake fluid, and also protects the engine compartment against moisture. 

 


​​​​​​​Highlights:

  • High acoustic absorption levels in combination with reduced wall thicknesses 

  • Impregnation against water, fuel, oil and brake fluid, etc.

  • Cost advantages due to one-shot production in a single tool

LIGHTWEIGHT DESIGN STRUCTURAL APPLICATIONS

MULTIFUNCTIONALITY AND INNOVATIVE CONCEPTS

POLYTEC attaches great importance to the expansion of its structural component portfolio and it is frequently the case that bright ideas and fresh concepts result from the line walks of the POLYTEC SOLUTION FORCE.

 

AGREE A LINE WALK NOW​​​​​​​

 

To achieve effective lightweight design, for example POLYTEC integrates local reinforcements such as organo sheets or DU tapes into structural parts or underbodies in order that areas subject to high stress possess the necessary strength. As a result, material use is minimised and therefore also weight and costs. For the production of such VICS (Variable In-moulded Composite Sandwich) solutions, a thermoplastic matrix core is pressed together with carbon or glass fibre reinforcement using the one-shot process.

 


​​​​​​​Highlights:

  • Weight reductions of up to 50 %

  • Possibilities for variable wall thicknesses and integrated reinforcements 

  • Extremely high mechanical capacity; equivalent to 3 mm steel

  • Combinable with acoustic elements, heat shields and electromagnetic protection

LIGHTWEIGHT DESIGN-FUNCTIONAL INTEGRATION

TRUNK MULTI-FUNCTIONALITY

The solution developed by POLYTEC for trunk wells, combines multi-functionality with splinter protection and improved acoustics. POLYTEC trunk wells can be employed simultaneously for a household pet basket, a shadow board, cooler compartment or storage. Moreover, owing to individual surface upgrading (e.g. through graining or in-mould coating) the desired optics and haptics can be achieved without additional design or functional components.

 


​​​​​​​Highlights:

  • Lower material and assembly costs owing to fewer components 

  • The use of a PUR layer provides surfaces that are attractive in both an optical and haptic regard and offer directly integrated functions without additional design and functional parts   

  • The replacement of the fabric splinter protection by a PUR layer simplifies the manufacturing process  

  • The possibility of using the trunk well system for a variety of applications cuts both the component price and tool costs 

  • A simplified production process ​​​​​​​

  • Choice of the manufacturing process in line with item numbers and requirements 

Would you like to be part of the success story?

POLYTEC PASSION CREATES INNOVATION

Underbody & Structural Solutions

LEISE, FLEXIBEL UND BESTENS ABGESCHIRMT

POLYTEC ist Teil von vielen Erfolgsgeschichten, bei denen bestehende Metallteile oder Baugruppen in integrierte Kunststofflösungen umgewandelt wurden. Dabei wurde Gewicht gespart, Kosten gesenkt, Geräusche absorbiert oder auch der CO2-Ausstoß deutlich reduziert.

Die Elektrifizierung von Fahrzeugen macht zudem einen wirkungsvollen Schutz der Batterie vor äußeren Einflüssen und der Insassen vor elektromagnetischen Feldern unerlässlich. POLYTEC bietet als Innovationspartner der Automobilindustrie auch in diesem Bereich optimierte Lösungen und erforscht neue Konzepte in Sachen Strukturanwendungen und Montageteile.

FAHRZEUGE MIT HYBRID- ODER BATTERIEELEKTRISCHEM ANTRIEB

LEICHTGEWICHTE SCHÜTZEN PASSAGIERE UND BATTERIE

Leichtbau ist besonders im Bereich E-Mobilität von Bedeutung – nicht nur im Sinne der Gewichtsreduktion, sondern auch der Funktionsintegration. Der Schutz der Insassen vor dem Eindringen des elektromagnetischen Feldes der Batterie in das Fahrzeuginnere ist dabei genauso wichtig wie der Schutz der Batterie gegen äußere Einflüsse wie Schmutz und Nässe.

 


​​​​​​​Highlights:

  • Leichtbaukonstruktion mit hoher Formstabilität und Funktionsintegration

  • Reduktion elektromagnetischer Felder, Temperaturabschirmung

  • Exzellente Klebeeigenschaften der Oberflächen, Flammwidrigkeit

INTEGRIERTE UNTERBÖDEN

AUSGZEICHNETER SCHUTZ UND BESSERE AKUSTIK

POLYTEC hat die Funktionsintegration auch bei Unterböden zum Standard erklärt. Neben der Schutzfunktion und der aerodynamischen Optimierung, werden Geräusche absorbiert und Hitzeschilder integriert. Um kosteneffiziente Produkte anbieten zu können, werden diese zusätzlichen Funktionen im One-Shot-Verfahren gleich mitgepresst.

Eine besondere Leistung ist die Integration von leichten LWRT-Abschnitten in stabile D-LFT Träger, welche in einem One-Shot-Verfahren gepresst werden. Dadurch können unsere Kunden die technischen Vorteile von LWRT nutzen, während durch clevere Werkzeugkonzepte die Kosten für teuren Verschnitt reduziert werden. Natürlich können auch Hitzeschilder oder Organosheets mitverarbeitet werden.

 


​​​​​​​Highlights:

  • Kein Materialverschnitt = kostengünstige Lösung

  • Kombination der Vorteile von LWRT und D-LFT

  • Kostenvorteil durch One-Shot-Produktion in einem Werkzeug

Beim POLYTEC In-moulded Sound Absorber (PISA) wird im One-Shot-Verfahren ein Akustik-Absorberschaum in einem Unterboden mitgepresst. Dieser sorgt mit seiner ausgezeichneten akustischen Absorption für Ruhe im Innen- und Außenbereich von Fahrzeugen. Darüber hinaus ist der versiegelte Sound Absorber resistent gegen Wasser, Treibstoff, Öl oder Bremsflüssigkeit und schützt den Motorraum so widerstandsfähig vor Nässe.

 


​​​​​​​Highlights:

  • Hohe akustische Absorptionsrate bei geringer Wandstärke

  • Imprägnierung gegen Wasser, Treibstoff, Öl, Bremsflüssigkeit, etc.

  • Kostenvorteil durch One-Shot-Produktion in einem Werkzeug

LEICHTBAU-STRUKTURANWENDUNGEN

MULTIFUNKTIONALITÄT UND INNOVATIVE KONZEPTE

POLYTEC beschäftigt sich intensiv mit der Erweiterung des Portfolios an Strukturbauteilen. Die frischen Ideen und Konzepte entstehen dabei sehr häufig bei den Line Walks der POLYTEC SOLUTION FORCE.

 

JETZT LINE WALK VEREINBAREN​​​​​​​

 

Für effektiven Leichtbau integriert POLYTEC in Strukturbauteilen beispielsweise lokale Verstärkungen wie z. B. Organosheets oder UD-Tapes, um in besonders beanspruchten Bereichen die notwendige Festigkeit zu erzielen. Dadurch werden Materialeinsatz und damit Gewicht und Kosten minimiert. Zur Herstellung dieser VICS (Variable In-moulded Composite Sandwich)-Lösungen wird ein thermoplastischer Matrixkern mit Carbon- oder Glasfaserverstärkungen im One-Shot-Verfahren verpresst.

 


​​​​​​​Highlights:

  • Bis zu 50 % Gewichtsreduktion

  • Variable Wandstärken und integrierte Verstärkungen möglich

  • Extrem hohes mechanisches Leistungsvermögen; analog zu 3 mm Stahl

  • Kombinierbar mit Akustikelementen, Hitzeschildern und elektromagnetischer Abschirmung

LEICHTBAU-FUNKTIONSINTEGRATION

MULTIFUNKTIONALITÄT IM KOFFERRAUM

Die von POLYTEC entwickelte Lösung für Kofferraummulden verbindet Multifunktionalität mit Splitterschutz und verbesserter Akustik. Die POLYTEC Kofferraummulde kann gleichzeitig Haustierbox, Shadowboard, Kühlfach oder Stauraum sein. Dank individueller Oberflächenveredlung (z. B. durch Narbung oder In-Mould-Coating) kann die gewünschte Optik und Haptik ohne zusätzliche Design- und Funktionsbauteile realisiert werden.

 


​​​​​​​Highlights:

  • Geringere Material- und Montagekosten durch den Wegfall von Bauteilen

  • Der Einsatz der PUR-Schicht ermöglicht optisch und haptisch ansprechende Oberflächen mit direkt integrierten Funktionen ohne zusätzliche Design- bzw. Funktionsbauteile

  • Ersatz des Gewebes für Splitterschutz durch PUR-Schicht vereinfacht den Herstellungsprozess

  • Einsatzmöglichkeit eines Kofferraummuldensystems für mehrere Varianten senkt Teilepreis & Werkzeugkosten

  • Vereinfachter Fertigungsprozess

  • Stückzahl- und anforderungsabhängige Auswahl des Herstellungsprozesses

Sie möchten Teil der Erfolgsgeschichte werden?