POLYTEC PASSION CREATES INNOVATION

New Mobility & Structural Innovations

INNOVATIVE COMPLETE SOLUTIONS FOR NEW AND SUSTAINABLE MOBILITY CONCEPTS

POLYTEC is an attractive partner forstart-ups or companies looking for a total lightweight design rethink. We create value added through innovative, tradition-free product design, technological independence, reliable production (automotive quality standards), experience in the development and production of complex modules, and system and functional integration (reduced complexity).  

 

 

WITH LIGHTNESS

READY FOR TOMORROW

POLYTEC is an active development partner with regard to both start-ups and innovative projects in new fields of mobility. We cooperate on the creation of complete solutions, which secure the best possible market launch and profitability. In particular, our customers benefit from our extensive experience in the automotive industry, reliable and scalable production, and an extensive technological range that facilitates cost-optimised production.

RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT

IN-HOUSE EXPERTISE AND PARTNERSHIPS

Our R&D team realises innovative ideas and the most demanding of complete concepts. Our comprehensive development competence is supplemented by a premium partnership with the Aachen Center for Integrative Lightweight Production (AZL) at the RWTH Aachen. The AZL’s extensive innovation and know-how network links over eighty partners from 21 countries and unites an excellent knowledge base with a production and product orientation.

MORE ABOUT THE AZL AACHEN​​​​​​​

VEHICLES WITH HYBRID OR ELECTRIC BATTERY DRIVE SYSTEMS

LIGHTWEIGHT PROTECTION FOR PASSENGERS AND BATTERIES

Lightweight design is of special significance in the e-mobility sector, not only with respect to weight reduction, but also functional integration. Within this context, the safeguarding of passengers against the penetration into the vehicle interior of the electromagnetic fields emanating from the battery is just as important as the protection of the battery against external influences such as dirt and moisture.

 


​​​​​​​Highlights:​​​​​​​

  • Lightweight structure with high levels of dimensional stability and functional integration

  • Electromagnetic field reduction, temperature shielding

  • Excellent surface bonding characteristics, flame-resistance

LIGHTWEIGHT DESIGN

A RETHINK

Plastics are undoubtedly ideal as a basic material for lightweight construction. However, by means of innovative design concepts and smart material combinations, POLYTEC’s lightweight products achieve far higher targets. 

One example in this connection is the group’s in-house developed trunk lid. This consists of only three parts (exterior section, the interior structural component and foamed interior trim), which in combination provide a ready-to-install lid that includes functional integration    

  • Installation of sensors and camera and 5G antenna
  • Printed electronics (touch controls, lighting, etc.)
  • interior trim inclusive noise absorption

 

LIGHTWEIGHT DESIGN STRUCTURAL APPLICATIONS

MULTIFUNCTIONALITY AND INNOVATIVE CONCEPTS

POLYTEC attaches great importance to the expansion of its structural component portfolio and it is frequently the case that bright ideas and fresh concepts result from the line walks of the POLYTEC SOLUTION FORCE.

 

AGREE A LINE WALK NOW​​​​​​​

 

To achieve effective lightweight design, for example POLYTEC integrates local reinforcements such as organo sheets or DU tapes into structural parts or underbodies in order that areas subject to high stress possess the necessary strength. As a result, material use is minimised and therefore also weight and costs. For the production of such VICS (Variable In-moulded Composite Sandwich) solutions, a thermoplastic matrix core is pressed together with carbon or glass fibre reinforcement using the one-shot process.

 


​​​​​​​Highlights:

  • Weight reductions of up to 50 %

  • Possibilities for variable wall thicknesses and integrated reinforcements 

  • Extremely high mechanical capacity; equivalent to 3 mm steel

  • Combinable with acoustic elements, heat shields and electromagnetic protection

Would you like to benefit from our innovations?

POLYTEC PASSION CREATES INNOVATION

New Mobility & Structural Innovations

INNOVATIVE GESAMTLÖSUNGEN FÜR NEUE UND NACHHALTIGE MOBILITÄTSKONZEPTE

POLYTEC ist ein attraktiver Partner für Start-Ups oder wenn Sie Leichtbau komplett neu denken wollen. Wir schaffen Mehrwert durch innovatives, traditionsbefreites Produktdesign, Technologieunabhängigkeit, eine abgesicherte Produktion (Automobil-Qualitätsstandards), Erfahrung in der Entwicklung und Produktion von komplexen Baugruppen, Systemintegration sowie Funktionsintegration (Komplexitätsreduktion).

 

MIT LEICHTIGKEIT

BEREIT FÜR DIE ZUKUNFT

POLYTEC ist aktiver Entwicklungspartner von Start-ups und innovativen Projekten in neuen Mobilitätsfeldern. Gemeinsam erarbeiten wir Komplettlösungen die eine bestmögliche Markteinführung und Wirtschaftlichkeit sicherstellen. Unseren Kunden profitieren dabei insbesondere von unserer umfangreichen Erfahrung in der Automobilindustrie, einer abgesicherten und skalierbaren Produktion und einem breiten Technologiespektrum, welches eine kostenoptimale Herstellung ermöglicht.

FORSCHUNG UND ENTWICKLUNG

IN-HOUSE EXPERTISE UND PARTNERSCHAFTEN

Unsere Mitarbeiter in Forschung und Entwicklung realisieren innovative Ideen und anspruchsvollste Gesamtkonzepte. Unsere umfassende Entwicklungskompetenz wird dabei durch eine Premium Partnerschaft mit dem Aachner Zentrum für integrativen Leichtbau (AZL) der RWTH Aachen ergänzt. Das breite Innovations- und Wissensnetzwerk des AZL verbindet über 80 Partner aus 21 Ländern und kombiniert einen exzellenten Wissensfundus mit einer fertigungs- und produktorientierten Ausrichtung.​​​​​​​
 

MEHR ÜBER DAS AZL AACHEN

FAHRZEUGE MIT HYBRID- ODER BATTERIEELEKTRISCHEM ANTRIEB

LEICHTGEWICHTE SCHÜTZEN PASSAGIERE UND BATTERIE

Leichtbau ist besonders im Bereich E-Mobilität von Bedeutung – nicht nur im Sinne der Gewichtsreduktion, sondern auch der Funktionsintegration. Der Schutz der Insassen vor dem Eindringen des elektromagnetischen Feldes der Batterie in das Fahrzeuginnere ist dabei genauso wichtig wie der Schutz der Batterie gegen äußere Einflüsse wie Schmutz und Nässe.

 


​​​​​​​Highlights:

  • Leichtbaukonstruktion mit hoher Formstabilität und Funktionsintegration

  • Reduktion elektromagnetischer Felder, Temperaturabschirmung

  • Exzellente Klebeeigenschaften der Oberflächen, Flammwidrigkeit

LEICHTBAU

NEU GEDACHT

Kunststoffe sind als Ausgangsmaterial ideal für den Leichtbau. Durch innovative Designkonzepte und clevere Materialkombinationen erreichen POLYTEC-Leichtbauprodukte mehr als nur Gewichtsreduktion. Ein gutes Beispiel hierfür ist der von POLYTEC entwickelte integrierte Heckdeckel.

Aus lediglich drei Teilen (Außenteil, inneres Strukturbauteil und geschäumte Innenverkleidung) entsteht dabei ein einbaufertiger Heckdeckel inklusive Funktionsintegration:

  • Einbau von Sensorik, Kamera und 5G Antenne
  • Printed Electronics (Touchbedienung, Beleuchtung, etc.)
  • Innenverkleidung inklusive Geräuschabsorbtion

 

 

LEICHTBAU-STRUKTURANWENDUNGEN

MULTIFUNKTIONALITÄT UND INNOVATIVE KONZEPTE

POLYTEC beschäftigt sich intensiv mit der Erweiterung des Portfolios an Strukturbauteilen. Die frischen Ideen und Konzepte entstehen dabei sehr häufig bei den Line Walks der POLYTEC SOLUTION FORCE.

 

JETZT LINE WALK VEREINBAREN​​​​​​​

 

Für effektiven Leichtbau integriert POLYTEC in Strukturbauteilen beispielsweise lokale Verstärkungen wie z. B. Organosheets oder UD-Tapes, um in besonders beanspruchten Bereichen die notwendige Festigkeit zu erzielen. Dadurch werden Materialeinsatz und damit Gewicht und Kosten minimiert. Zur Herstellung dieser VICS (Variable In-moulded Composite Sandwich)-Lösungen wird ein thermoplastischer Matrixkern mit Carbon- oder Glasfaserverstärkungen im One-Shot-Verfahren verpresst.

 


​​​​​​​Highlights:

  • Bis zu 50 % Gewichtsreduktion

  • Variable Wandstärken und integrierte Verstärkungen möglich

  • Extrem hohes mechanisches Leistungsvermögen; analog zu 3 mm Stahl

  • Kombinierbar mit Akustikelementen, Hitzeschildern und elektromagnetischer Abschirmung

Sie möchten durch Innovationen profitieren?